Allahyarham Tun Dato’ Dr. Haji Mohd Salleh AbasAllahyarham

S.S.M., P.M.N., P.S.M., P.Y.G.P., S.P.M.T., D.P.M.T., J.M.N., S.M.T.
LLB (Hons) (Wales).

  • Middle Temple, Barrister.
  • Solicitor General of Malaysia 1969 – 1979.
  • Federal Court Judge 1979 – 1984.
  • Lord President 1984 – 1988.
  • Judge of Syariah Appeal Court, Kelantan 1998 – 2000.
  • Member of Royal Commission on the Police Force Malaysia 2004 – 2005.
Tun Dato’ Dr. Haji Mohd Salleh Abas was born in Kampung Raja, Besut, in the State of Terengganu in Peninsular Malaysia in 1929. He graduated with the Bachelor of Law degree from the University College of Wales at Aberystwyth in 1954 and was called to the English Bar at Middle Temple in 1955.
He began his public career as a Deputy Public Prosecutor in his home state in the same year. He was appointed magistrate in Kota Bharu the following year. He rose to become a Senior Federal Counsel with the Attorney-General’s Chambers, and later assumed the post of Legal Adviser to the States of Negeri Sembilan and Malacca. From 1969 to 1979 he was Solicitor General of Malaysia during which period he became a Fellow of Harvard University in 1971. He was elevated as a Federal Court Judge in 1979.

Four years later he became Lord President of Malaysia from 1984 to 1988. For some years thereafter, he was appointed a judge of the Syari’ah Court of Appeal in Kelantan. In 2004, he was appointed to sit as a member of the Royal Commission on the Malaysian Police Force. Y.A.Bhg. Tun Salleh was conferred the Sri Mahkota Terengganu by His Royal Highness the Sultan of Terengganu in 1963, the Johan Mangku Negara by His Majesty the Yang Dipertuan Agong and on 1968 he was conferred the Darjah Dato’ Paduka Mahkota Terengganu by His Royal Highness the Sultan of Terengganu. He was also awarded the Certificate of Appreciation for services rendered following the Outbreak of Emergency, in May 13, 1969.

In 1971, he was conferred the Panglima Setia Mahkota by His Majesty the Yang Dipertuan Agong. On 5 June 1985, His Majesty Yang Dipertuan Agong conferred upon him the Seri Setia Mahkota Malaysia (SSM).

Scroll to Top